182nd Airlift Wing photojournalist wins NGB media award

  • Published
  • By Tech. Sgt. Todd A. Pendleton
  • 182nd Airlift Wing Public Affairs
A photojournalist with the 182nd Airlift Wing was awarded Outstanding New Photographer for the Air National Guard Feb. 3 for his work submitted to the National Guard Bureau Media Contest.

The award recognizes an enlisted airman through the rank of technical sergeant working in public affairs and department of the Air Force public affairs civilians working within their job series for 24 months or less. Entrants were evaluated through five photographs taken during the year.

"It's very gratifying to have some of my work validated by my community," said Illinois Air National Guard Staff Sgt. Lealan C. Buehrer of Marquette Heights, Ill., upon learning of his award. "To me, it means that I've got talented supervisors and that I'm learning from them. I think learning is one of the most important factors of becoming a professional."

Prior to becoming a photojournalist, Buehrer served as a security forces craftsman in the 182nd Security Forces Squadron. He was hired as a public affairs specialist and completed technical school at the Defense Information School at Fort George G. Meade, Md., in November 2013.

Buehrer's supervisor and public affairs officer, Maj. William D. Soddy, supported Buehrer's decision to enter the media contest.

"Staff Sergeant Buehrer is an above average, enthusiastic photographer who joined the 3N0X5 career field in November 2012. His demonstrated passion for learning is clearly reflected in his photography style, and his photography products are almost exclusively created through self-starting and initiative," Soddy stated in Buehrer's nomination letter.

The National Guard Bureau Media Contest recognizes Army National Guard and Air National Guard public affairs professionals for outstanding achievement in furthering the objectives of the Department of Defense internal information program. The Air National Guard winners will now compete the Air Force Media Contest, which will take place in March.